Reports Articles and Papers (see also page ‘Plans Models and Policies’)

Renewable Energy links

Magazines which focus on renewable energy

And here are some important magazines covering renewable energy. They vary in the amount of material theu give away or free; some give entire stories, some just teasers, some a mixture: REnewsbiz keeps you up to date with important renewable energy happenings in the UK and beyond.  Reneweconomy focuses mostly on Australia…but there’s some crucial renewable energy stuff going on down under! Cleantechnica is especially strong on the US scene with a lot of material on electric powered vehicles. Windpowermonthly is the longstanding but still very much cutting edge magazine covering global happenings in the wind industry. Solarpowerportal keeps you well in touch with the UK solar scene. RenewableEnergyWorld focuses on the USA, but has stories around the world as well. Recharge is another highly regarded international renewable energy magazine, as is Renewable Energy Focus and of course Renewable Energy Magazine. We should also mention Business Green. It is a lot wider than renewable energy, but it does give a large proportion of its coverage to UK energy stories.

Then of course there’s the tweeting news service brought to you by this website through David Toke‘s tweets which are carried on this site! Don’t forget to follow them!

Below are sections on leading blogs, trade associations, think tanks and consultancies and links to publication outputs of academic research centres. The emphasis has been to feature UK-oriented sites which give priority to promoting renewable energy and or energy efficiency, although some notable ones based outside the UK are included.

Blogs

Jeremy Leggett, the founder of Solar Century company , former Greenpeace CEO, https://jeremyleggett.net/

Dave Elliott, Emeritus Professor of Renewable Energy at the Open University http://renewextra.blogspot.com/

David Toke, Reader in Energy Politics, University of Aberdeen: http://realfeed-intariffs.blogspot.com/

Chris Goodall (Carbon Commentary) https://www.carboncommentary.com/

Tom Burke (He is a former Director of Friends of the Earth and is founder of E3G) http://tomburke.co.uk/

Jonathon Porritt (He is a former Director of FOE, former CEO of the Sustainable Development Commission and founded Forum for the Future): http://www.jonathonporritt.com/blog

No2Nuclear Power, including NuClear news (includes substantial renewable energy coverage) http://www.no2nuclearpower.org.uk/nuclear-news/

 Thinks tanks and campaign groups producing reports

E3G (think tank, consultancy founded by Tom Burke) https://www.e3g.org/

Sandbag – produces heavyweight reports on green energy issues which are oriented towards a renewable energy future https://sandbag.org.uk/

Local Energy Scotland https://www.localenergy.scot/

Labour Environment Campaign https://www.sera.org.uk/join

Aurora Energy https://www.auroraer.com/

Energy and Climate Intelligence Unit https://eciu.net/

Forum for the Future (founded by Jonathon Porritt) https://www.forumforthefuture.org/

Unearthed (Greenpeace) https://unearthed.greenpeace.org/

Pro-Wind Alliance https://prowa.org.uk/

Carbon Brief https://www.carbonbrief.org/

Trade Associations

RenewableUK This is the UK’s biggest renewable trade association focussing in particular on wind power https://www.renewableuk.com/default.aspx

Wind Europe – The main European Wind Power trade association https://windeurope.org/

Association for Decentralised Energy – caters for energy efficiency and district heating  https://www.theade.co.uk/

Renewable Energy Association https://www.r-e-a.net/

Solar Trade Association – the leader of solar energy campaigning in the UK  https://www.solar-trade.org.uk/

Energy Storage Association https://energystorage.org/

Scottish Renewables – represents the Scottish renewables industry https://www.scottishrenewables.com/

Academic centres for research into renewable energy

Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, http://www.sussex.ac.uk/spru/research/publications

Energy Policy Group, University of Exeter http://geography.exeter.ac.uk/research/groups/energypolicy/

University College London Energy Institute https://www.ucl.ac.uk/bartlett/energy/

Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford https://www.eci.ox.ac.uk/research/energy/

UKERC (United Kingdom Energy Research Council) http://www.ukerc.ac.uk/publications.html

Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation https://edinburghcentre.org/

Institute for Energy and Sustainable Development, De Montfort University, Leicester, https://www.dmu.ac.uk/research/centres-institutes/iesd/publications.aspx

 

 

Share this page: